Curiculum Vitae Professor Bohn

Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Ing. Dieter E. Bohn, born 5. July 1942, Hagen/Westfalen, Germany


  • Element. School Hagen-Haspe 1949-1953
  • Gymnasium (Abitur) Hagen-Haspe 1953-1962

Scientific Degrees:

  • Studying Aeronautics and Astronautics, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Degree: Dipl.-Ing. Mechanical Engineering, RWTH Aachen University, Germany, 1971
  • Research Associate at Institute of Jet Engines and Pumps, 1971-1977, Research Project: Developing and Testing of Two Different Supersonic Compressor Stages
  • Degree: Dr.-lng., Mechanical Engineering, RWTH-Aachen University, Germany, 1977

Industrial Positions:

  • Head of Department "Compressor Design", Siemens KWU, Mülheim, Germany, 1978-1987
  • Head of Department "Gas Turbine Design", Siemens Power Generation, Mülheim, Germany, 1987-1990
  • President of B&B-AGEMA (Gesellschaft für energietechnische Maschinen und -Anlagen), Aachen, since 1995
  • Member of Supervisory Board of Welland & Tuxhorn GmbH&Co KG, Bielefeld, Germany, 2000-2006
  • Vice Chairman of Supervisory Board of Welland & Tuxhorn AG, Bielefeld, Germany, since 2006

Positions at Universities, Scientific and Industrial Organizations, Public and Governmental Institutions:

  • Lecturer "Turbomachinery" at Duisburg University, 1985-1987
  • Full Professor (Univ.-Prof.) and Director of Institute for Steam and Gas Turbines (Institut für Dampf- und Gasturbinen, IDG), RWTH Aachen University, Germany, April 1990 - July 2010
  • Senator of RWTH Aachen University, 1992-1998
  • Executive Manager of "Flow and Combustion Research" at IDG, RWTH Aachen University, 1994-2010
  • Guest Professor at Beijing University of Astronautics and Aeronautics, Beijing China, 2005-2010
  • Guest Professor at Tsinghua University, Depart. of Thermal Engineering, Beijing China, 2006-2009
  • Member of Scientific Advisory Board of VGB (Vereinigung der Großkraftwerksbetreiber), 1995-2012
  • Member of Experts Group of ASUE, Berlin, Germany, since 1992
  • Chairman of Experts Group "Materials/Power Station Technology" of Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, 1998-2000
  • Appointed Member Parish Council at St. Ludger Moers-Kapellen, 1987-1999
  • Chairman of Experts Group "Energy Technology" of VDI Aachen, 1992-2010
  • Chairman of "Energy Council of Aachen City" (Politicians, Industrialists, Managers, Scientists), 1992-2010
  • Chairman of "Power Station Technology: New Technologies ", State North-Rhine-Westphalia NRW, 1994-2004
  • (Peer) Reviewer (Turbomachinery) of DFG, 1991-2010
  • Chairman of Panel of Experts AiF-Group 3 (Energy Technology), 1997-2003
  • Member of Scientific Advisory Board of AiF (Joint Venture Industrial Research), 2003-2015
  • Member of Panel of Experts AiF-Group 2 (Process Engineering and Energy Technology), Vice Chairman, 2003-2005
  • Chairman of Panel of Experts Aif-Group 2 (Process Engineering and Energy Technology), 2005-2015
  • Court appointed expert for Power Station Technology (independent evidence trials) at District Court Munich / Frankfurt
  • Peer Reviewer of Panel of Experts AiF-Group 4 (Design and Construction), 2003-2010
  • Member of Steering Committee "Competence Network Power Station Technology NRW", 2005-2012
  • Member of Experts Committees of Gas Turbines, Steam Turbines, Turbomachinery, VGB, since 1991
  • Member Academic Committee at Inst. Gas Turbines, Tsinghua University, Beijing China, since 2014
  • Member International Advisory Committee at Collaborative Innovation Center Advanced Aero-Engines, Beihang University, Beijing, China, since 2014

Collaborative Research Projects:

  • Chairman of DFG-Collaborative Research Center Nr. 561, "Thermally Highly Loaded, Porous and Cooled Multi Layer Systems for Combined Cycle Power Plants, RWTH Aachen University, 1998-2010
  • Research-Coordinator "Gas Turbine Combustion Chamber" of DFG-Collaborative Research Center Nr. 686 "Modell-based Homogenious Low Temperature Combustion in Gas Turbines and Motor Engines", 2006-2010
  • Coordinator of Excellence-Initiative "Hybrid Power Station Systems" ,RWTH Aachen University in 2004


  • Best Paper Award ASME-Heat Transfer Committee, 1994, Heat Transfer in Gas-Filled Rotating Cavities
  • Award Combustion Society of the Rep. of China for "Outstanding Research in Gas Turbine Technology", 1993
  • Award Pacific-Center of Thermo-Fluid Engineering, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA, for Outstanding Research Contributions in the Area of Rotating Machinery", 2006
  • Honorary Member Gas Turbine Society of Japan, 2008 (life-long member)


  • German Society of Aeronautics and Astronautics (DGLR), since 1966
  • Verein Deutscher Ingenieure VDI, since 1990
  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers ASME, 1990-2010
  • American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics AIAA, 1994-2010


  • over 480 reviewed contributions to national/international Professional Journals and Conference Proceedings
  • 4 contributions to international books / NASA-encyclopedia about "Conjugate Turbine Cooling Technology".