ACF2D + Design
The Axial Compressor Design Tool
AixCompFlow 2D (ACF2D) is a design software and tool based on a streamline curvature method for analysis and design of multi-stage axial compressors. It combines the special expert knowledge and adapted compressor profile correlations to a highly efficient and reliable design tool with special focus on axial compressors for heavy duty and industrial gas turbines.

The software is available for Windows and Linux operating systems. The graphical user-interface provides access to all input data as well as the possibility to analyse the results in chart plots and 2D plots.

The can be run in batch mode and in script mode for easy integration into client's compressor design and optimization tool chain and for calculation of compressor maps within short time.

Newest Models and Features in ACF2D

  • enhanced possibilities for adjusting the implemented correlations to client specific needs and experience
  • correlation adjustment can be done per airfoil family and per blade row
  • enhanced model for rotor and stator tip clearance losses
  • consideration of adjustable rotors
  • export of calculation results per station (integral results) and on streamlines (2D results) into CSV format
  • consideration of radial distribution in case of mass flow extraction (bleeding)
  • influence of surface roughness (deterioration) on compressor performance

ACF2D Analysis Mode

As in the previous versions of ACF2D, also the newest release can be run in the analysis mode. Here, the geometry of the compressor is prescribed and the flow and performance of the compressor are calculated by application of the implemented loss and deviation correlations for the following profile families:
  • NACA65 (according to NASA SP-36)
  • DCA (double circular arc) (according to NASA SP-36)
  • CDA (controlled diffusion airfoil (self-developed correlation based on DCA correlation)
  • NACA63 (self-adopted NACA65 correlation for NACA63 airfoils with high flow turning as used for IGVs)
  • MCA (multi-circular arc) (according to Koch&Smith)

ACF2D Design Mode

In the analysis mode of ACF2D, the airfoil geometry is prescribed by means of geometry parameters, so that the outflow condition for each blade row can be determined based on the implemented correlations for total pressure loss and deviation. In the design mode, the outflow condition itself is prescribed by user input. Thus, the desirable flow condition of the blades and vanes can be analyses in the environment of the entire compressor. The analysis mode and the design mode can be arbitrarily combined in one calculation, i.e. some rows are calculated in design mode and the others in analysis mode.

The outlet flow conditions can be prescribed by

  • profile loss & relative outlet flow angle,
  • profile loss & total pressure ratio (for rotors),
  • profile loss & stage total pressure ratio (for rotors) or
  • profile loss & degree of reaction (for stators).
Outlet conditions can have different geometric dependencies:
  • radial coordinate,
  • span (relative flow channel height) or
  • streamline number.
and also aerodynamic dependencies with respect to relative inlet Mach number and relative inlet tangential flow angle. The necessary 2D data and corresponding XML files, which are used by ACF2D, can easily be created, evaluated and manipulated by means of the B&B-AGEMA tool PDEM (Performance Data Evaluation and Manipulation tool). The 2D data are interpolated by means of 2D Akima splines.

Example calculation of a 16-stage gas turbine compressor with ACF2D


Automatic export of the 3D compressor geometry from ACF2D and calculation with CFD

ACF2D + Design
Das Axialverdichter Design Tool
AixCompFlow 2D (ACF2D) ist eine Design-Software und ein Programm auf Basis eines Stromlinienkrümmungsverfahrens für die Analyse und das Design vielstufiger Axialverdichter. ACF2D vereint spezielle Expertenkenntnisse and angepasste Verdichterprofil-Korrelationen zu einem äußerst effizienten und verlässlichen Design-Tool mit besonderem Fokus auf Axialverdichter von Hochleistungs- und Industriegasturbinen, die zur Stromerzeugung eingesetzt werden.

Das Programm steht für Windows- und Linux-Betriebssysteme zur Verfügung. Die graphische Benutzeroberfläche bietet Zugriff auf alle Eingabedaten sowie die Möglichkeit, die Rechenergebnisse in Diagrammen und 2D-Graphiken zu analysieren.

ACF2D kann im Batch-Modus und im Skript-Modus betrieben werden, wodurch dem Kunden die Einbindung in seine bestehenden Verdichter-Design und Optimierungsabläufe ebenso erleichtert wird wie die schnelle Berechnung von Kennfeldern.

Neueste Modelle und Features in ACF2D

  • verbesserte Möglichkeiten zur Anpassung der implementierten Korrelationen an kundenspezifische Bedürfnisse und Erfahrungen
  • Anpassung der Korrelationen kann für Profilfamilien und für Schaufelreihen erfolgen
  • verbessertes Modell für Radialspaltverluste von Rotoren und Statoren
  • Berücksichtigung von verstellbaren Rotoren
  • Export der Berechnungsergebnisse je Station (integrale Ergebnisse) und auf den Stromlinien (2D-Ergebnisse) in CSV-Format
  • Berücksichtigung radialer Verteilungen bei Massenstromentnahmen (Bleeding)
  • Einfluss der Oberflächenrauhigkeit (Alterung) auf Verdichterleistung und -wirkungsgrad

ACF2D Analyse-Modus

Wie die vorherigen Versionen von ACF2D kann auch die neueste Version im Analyse-Modus betrieben werden. In diesem Fall wird die Geometrie vorgegeben und Strömung, Leistung und Wirkungsgrad des Verdichter werden berechnet unter Verwendung der implementierten Verlust- und Minderumlenkungskorrelation folgender Profilfamilien:
  • NACA65 (nach NASA SP-36)
  • DCA (double circular arc) (nach NASA SP-36)
  • CDA (controlled diffusion airfoil) (selbstentwickelte Korrelation auf Basis der DCA Korrelation)
  • NACA63 (selbstangepasste NACA65 Korrelation für NACA63 Profile mit hoher Umlenkung wie sie in Vorleiträdern (IGVs) verwendet werden)
  • MCA (multi-circular arc) (nach Koch&Smith)

ACF2D Design Mode

Im Analyse-Modus von ACF2D wird die Schaufelgeometrie in Form von Geometrieparametern vorgegeben, so dass die Abströmbedingung jeder Schaufelreihe basierend auf den implementierten Totaldruckverlust- und Minderumlenkungskorrelationen bestimmt werden kann. Im Design-Modus wird die Abströmbedingung selbst durch die Benutzereingabe vorgeschrieben. Dadurch kann die gewünschte Strömungsbedingung der Lauf- und Leitschaufeln im Umfeld des gesamten Verdichters untersucht werden. Der Analyse-Modus und der Design-Modus können beliebig in einer Berechnung kombiniert werden, d. h. einige Reihen werden im Design-Modus berechnet und andere im Analyse-Modus.

Die Abströmbedingung kann vorgeschrieben werden durch

  • Profilverluste & relativen Abströmwinkel.
Die Abströmbedingungen können verschiedene geometrische Abhängigkeiten haben:
  • radiale Koordinate,
  • Span (relative Kanalhöhe) oder
  • Stromliniennummer
und auch aerodynamische Abhängigkeiten hinsichtlich relativer Eintritts-Machzahl und relativem Eintrittsströmungswinkel. Die erforderlichen 2D-Daten und entsprechende XML Dateien, die von ACF2D verwendet werden, können leicht mit dem B&B-AGEMA Tool PDEM (Performance Data Evaluation and Manipulation tool) erzeugt, untersucht und verändert werden. Die 2D-Daten werden durch 2D-Akima-Splines interpoliert.

Beispielrechnung eines 16 stufigen Gasturbinenverdichters in ACF2D:

Automatisierter Export der 3D Verdichtergeometrie aus ACF2D und Nachrechnung in CFD: